18th Dec

Smart Philippines Online Postpaid Application Review

I figured since my work needs me to be online all the time, I should have an unlimited data mobile which is always connected on the go, no need to load, etc., so I applied for a Smart postpaid data plan online.

I was excited when I learned that Smart has an online application for postpaid. I immediately got my documents together (2 Government I.D.s, bank statement, credit card statement) uploaded it, and sent in my application. After I did so, I got a text message on my prepaid Smart number and an email address stating that my application has been received and they will get in touch with me for updates. I was impressed of course, and thought, that maybe they will be quick with my application.

After 3 days though, I didn’t get feedback so I emailed their support to ask them about the regular processing time of a postpaid application online. Their support got back to me and said that they will forward my concern to the right support group. So okay, I think my question was kinda general and they didn’t have an answer for me. Oops. I didn’t get a reply to my question though even after a few days.

On November 24, they emailed me that I lacked a document (front scan of credit card/latest payment made) and I had to upload it within 2 days or else my application will be canceled. So I complied. Didn’t hear from them again until December 04, 2014, when they called me to inform me that my postpaid application was approved. I even got two calls that day from two different Smart numbers stating the same information. The second caller didn’t even know that I already talked to his colleague. They asked if I could make the payment as soon as the payment link is sent through email within 24 hours. I said yes.

And surprise, I didn’t get a payment link after 24 hours. And until now, 10 business days later, no payment link has arrived in my email. I tweeted to them at @Smartcares, messaged them on FB, emailed them at customerservice@smart.com.ph, sent in a ticket in the Help section of the online store, and even called their Sales Telehotline to follow up. Mind you, I am a very patient person, but not knowing what happened to the payment link that was supposed to arrive after 24 hours can be frustrating.

And all their support response (from the different channels) were the same, “We will forward this to the right support group”. I’m not sure who the right support group is or if my payment link will come this year, but I hope it does so I can take this off my list.

Let’s see what happens!

Update: The payment link came December 23 and I had the option to pay it through online banking or credit card. I chose credit card and after my payment, I got the email that if I used a credit card to pay for my initial month + handset price, I will have to wait for another verification email. Whereas if I had chosen to go the online banking route, delivery would have been processed already. Drats! Another waiting game!

Second Update:

January 15, 2015 (Thursday) – I got a call from their customer service saying that they received my payment and since it was a holiday in Manila (Pope Francis Visit), I can expect delivery 5-7 business days starting Monday, January 19.

January 23, 2015  (Friday) – I got another email saying my application is under verification and another payment link was sent. (Okay Smart, what is up with your Online Store???) I emailed them stating the said anomaly. And I got two calls from them after a few hours – one call was to inform me to ignore the latest payment link they sent and the other was to expect endorsement to their warehouse for delivery within 24 hours, then I will have to wait the said 5-7 business days for delivery.

To date, it has taken my application 42 business days and still nothing!

January 27, 2015 (Tuesday) – I got an email that my phone and sim is now for delivery. The email said it would take 7-10 business days for it to reach my location.

January 29, 2015 (Thursday) – I got a call from the courier that my phone is now with them and they wanted directions to my house so they can deliver it. I was surprised since I was thinking it will take 7-10 business days but it arrived in 2 days!

Well, I guess someone took initiative from Smart’s side to resolve my issue. Whoever it was that stepped in, thank you! Finally, I have my unli data plan and new phone!

Comments (14)
  • Hi, glad to have read this blog of yours. Now I know what to expect from Smart Online Application. I sent my online application November 20; I hope they’ve changed their ways.

    Thanks a lot!

    • You’re welcome!

  • I was searching for reviews about smart’s online application and google directed me to your blog. 🙂

    I’ve been a loyal smart prepaid subscriber for 10 years :p and I have no complaints at all. When I decided to finally convert to postpaid subscriber, I took the chance to try their online application system. I thought everything will be fine… I thought 😉

    My story was similar to yours. It took them days and after so much follow up before they sent the payment link. I’m done with the payment via credit card too. After reading your post, I guess I have to lower my expectations. Hahaha Although I’m praying it wouldn’t take them a month to have my SIM card delivered.

    PS You have a very informative and helpful articles. I hope you can blog more 🙂

    • Hopefully, you got your phone! 🙂

  • Hi! Thank you for sharing your experience. Mine was terrible. I ordered online last feb 4,2016 and paid the item on feb 12. Until now i have not receive the phone. Worst, i found out from the courier that the phone was return to shipper. The courier didnt bother to call me to verify my address. It is so heart breaking. Lesson learned, never again.

    • Unfortunately, Smart call center hotline, their business offices, and online support don’t coordinate with each other! When I renew my plan this January, I will go directly to the business office so I can get the phone right then and there.

  • nag-aapply lang ako ng plan kung alam kung maayos ang service connection nila sa area (globe vs smart). pero kung pareho lang silang ok di kana sana dumiretso nagpatuloy sa smart kung ganun ang serbisyo nila. ang nakakainis sa business center both globe and smart is meron sila REQUIRED ADD-ON palagi para daw mabilis ma-approve ang application! pero kung gusto mo ng mas mabilis na approval punta kna lang sa business center but be ready to pay bigger initial cashout.

  • Wow, thanks for the article. At least I now I know what others have been through and that I can expect more waiting time!

    It’s now 2017 and well I am applying for a postpaid plan and jumping from being a Globe prepaid subscriber. The online application just rejected my application after 4-5 days and told me to go to a SMART branch to discuss further. Went to the nearest one and they made me fill out a new form and submit requirements again. Almost 2 weeks no news and I went to follow up at the branch. They have no idea what the status of my application is, they can’t even find me in their system and my application form since whoever took care of it was not in. Then when I was complaining how they can’t find me in the system, all of a sudden the CSR attending to me said that yes my application is in Makati for processing. So first they can’t find me but when I try raising a fuss all off a sudden she knows my application is in Makati already? Then 1 week later someone texts me to provide additional financial documents. I went to give it to them. A week later no news, I pass by and the girl handling my application is not yet in, the CSR again doesn’t know what’s going on so she will have the girl in charge of my papers call me within the day. No call. Almost a week again now and I’ve contact SMART on FB Messenger and they said they will look into it. Why can’t anyone give me an update? This is awful.

  • Had bad experience with the business center too. I gave the requirements to Smart Edsa Shangri-La (COE, 2 month payslip and PLDT Bill). I thought since I was a subscriber of their sister company, everything will be easy. I sent it sunday. Monday, no call. Tuesday, I received an email.

    “While checking out your documents for your application, we noticed a few missing things you might have over looked.
    For now, we’ve marked your application as incomplete. Please wait for our call for the next step.
    Thank you and have a great day ahead!”

    Still no call received from them.

    It was a noreply email address so I went to Shangri-La to check what went wrong. The agent just told me that my requirements are complete and it’s just an automatic responce whenever they can;t reach my contact number. I gave them a Smart number. Even received calls from Globe that day, so it’s not about the signal. Checked if the number that I gave was correct. The next day, no call. Tried to call their sales hotline but the first agent told me that they don’t have access to it and that I need to follow up with the store. Followed up with the store, told me that there’s still no response to them for my application. Tried inquiring for the 2nd time thru their hotline, Agent was able to get my details and told me that my requirements are complete and is just for verification. Friday, still no status call for me. I called their sales hotline and was told that verification has failed. They can’t reach my company’s HR number. I tried it myself after the call. After 1 dial, I managed to talk to my HR. Called the store, told me to advice the HR to keep their lines open for verification. Our company lines are always open. They even didn’t bother to contact me that they are having problems calling our HR. It was always me who needs to follow up. This sunday I tried the online route. Submitted everything that may help speed up the process ( existing globe and pldt bill, creditcard statements, driver’s license and Passport, COE). Hope everything will be fine. Today is Monday. No call/texts so far.

  • I have had a not so good experience with smart online.

    I sent my requirements last March 5, 2017 and (luckily) my application was approved March 7, 2017 where they promised to send me a payment link. Until today March 11, 2017, no payment link was sent to my email despite my rigorous daily follow ups.

    I even suggested if I can just pay at the local Smart service center, but they said that it is not possible (how come?). Anyways, the online sales representative said yesterday, March 10, 2017 at 11:00am, that I should just wait for the telemarketer to contact me to facilitate my application and payment and that it would be marked on the priority list. Well, the usual, no calls or payment links arrived.

    I’m disappointed with the kind of service and planning to just cancel my application because I guess the process would really take months.

  • Phew. I thought i was the only one..

    I had applied a couple of weeks ago. Googgled for the process, i am surprised to know that i am not the only one who is experiencing the same thing.

    Anyway, i am still hoping my application gets approved. Thank you for this informative blog.

  • So to cut my story short, applied online waited for 2 weeks called their hotline and told me they were experiencing technical issues and my application was pending.

    Went to MOA Smart center, applied there instead but said I couldn’t since there was an online application pending. I cancelled it and began the fill up process. 1 week later yay!! got a call from the agent that assisted me in MOA and said “yup your approved! we will need to wait for the stocks to be delivered. A week passed and yay!! still no stocks :/ drat!

    I will update if anything does happen 🙂

  • I applied for Smart postpaid plan. But not online. Its through smart enterprise(Company endorsed). After almost 2 weeks, my application got approved and now I’m waiting for the paymentlink or whatever or what they so called CAP. Just waiting for that link to pay that and enjoy my plan. This is my first time applying. And if they will provide good service, I think I will stick to them. Hoping that the process will not take weeks from now to be completed.

  • When processing a Smart postpaid Application, they are just the Worst! They come up with so many excuses just to delay the process. Its been 3 weeks and they keep telling my boyfriend that they could not contact me as an “in case of an emergency contact” because of an “out of coverage” message they get?!!!! My phone is always on and i ha e excellent signal.. so, why couldn’t they contact me as well as they could, my boyfriend???? It is sooooooo frustrating!!! Gggrrrr!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge